Looking Presidential-Hillary

“Not necessarily attractive.”

“Maybe Hillary should smile *less* …

“Well, I just don’t think she has a presidential look,”

 

This week’s debate marked a milestone in American History. The first female candidate of a major political party sparred with the male counterpart on the opposing side. Yet analysts and viewers alike still find a way to make sexism a part of the conversation.

Fox News’ Brit Hume said after this week’s debate, “I Think, For The Most Part, [Clinton] Looked Composed, Smug Sometimes, Not Necessarily Attractive” and twitter was alive with comments saying she smiled too much. Since when is a candidate deemed qualified based on their appearance? And to Mr. Trump who stated, “Well, I just don’t think she has a presidential look, and you need a presidential look.” She has been criticized for her voice, her clothes, her hairstyles and the list goes on.

We are about to elect the leader of the greatest country on earth and for many it is coming down to looks and well let’s face it gender. I may be wrong but some people I know who are staunch Trump supporters cannot give me a concrete reason for voting for him except they refuse to vote for Hillary.

Now we can all make assumptions as to what their reasoning is. I have no problem with someone who says they believe Trump is more qualified (well actually I do but we will save that for a later date), or they prefer his policies. But when they have no reason other than they hate Hillary? Well I find that a bit disconcerting.

I always thought being a President was different than a beauty pageant, although I am sure she would have scored high on smiling! Maybe I am out of step with reality.  We live in a world of reality tv telling us to be more like the Kardashians and the Real Housewives of Atlanta and where ever else they find mothers in heels and dresses sipping wine. I must have been doing something wrong in my sweats, minivan and convenient store coffee driving kids all over town. Heels? Really?

The sad fact remains, we as women are still judged on our looks and gender. Progress has been made but we still have a long road ahead. Perhaps, just perhaps if Hillary wins in November, we will have a new definition of what Presidential looks like.

5 thoughts on “Looking Presidential-Hillary

  1. while I find it repulsive that anyone would choose their president based on looks, it is something people do. there was actually a study in a 2008 issue of social Cognitive and Affective Neuroscience journal that found that both male and female candidates were judged heavily on their physical appearance

    Liked by 1 person

    • As much as I hate to admit it I believe it happens alot. Probably more so in this world of instant news and cell phone videos etc. I just hope that we as a people can grow from this and recognize a leader is not defined by his or her voice, hair, fashion taste or any other superfulouos way they are often scrutinized today. Thank you for pointing out that study. I will check it out.

      Like

  2. This is fantastic! I was just listening to a radio program prior to the debate that was discussing the fact that Trump is judged on a curve. Hillary is judged harsher because of her history in politics. In this same radio program they discussed that her secrecy makes people not judge her. So when she performs well and demonstrates her knowledge, control and stamina then something else needs to be judged…her smile 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

